iStig

UPS – “Your Call Is Important To Us… Please Hold”

In Rant, UPS on November 28, 2007 at 10:11:01 pm

UPS - there’<p><p><p>s always tomorrow

So, in case you haven’t been following, an important parcel was supposed to arrive yesterday. UPS was (and still is) the shipper, and is ruddy incompetent.Today, I witnessed this raw uselessness.
My package had a scheduled delivery date of yesterday, but it didn’t happen. Apparently, it’s easy to find our house when my dad is getting something shipped, but when it’s my package, they get lost.Anyhow, today rolled around. I phoned at lunch to ensure that my package would be home today. The customer service person apologized for the lack of delivery the previous day and ensured I would get it by noon or just after today. I said “alright” and stupidly decided to go home. I went to my last class of the day, then I left school early (during my spare at 2:00 PM) and walked home in the bloody cold weather. I hate the cold. But that’s another blog story, for another day. I got home at around 2:30 PM, expecting a package. But, lo and behold, there was none to be found. I waited until 5:15, and there was still no parcel.
So I phoned the customer service line again to see if they could tell me where the hell my package was. They couldn’t but assured me that they would forward my concerns to the local distribution centre with a “high priority” rank. They also told me that someone would phone back to me within the next hour.
An hour passed.
Then an hour and a half.
Still, no phone call. I then telephoned UPS back and asked what was up. They said that there was nothing they could do at night, and they assured me that someone would phone me at noon tomorrow.
Isn’t that fantastic?
I don’t recall rescheduling my delivery for 2 days late.

Leave a comment