iStig

Current Playlist

In Music on April 15, 2008 at 8:22:05 pm

This might be a weekly feature or something. Same dealio as last time – click on the links to buy the music.

  1. Good Morning (Intro) – Kanye West
  2. Sorry – Madonna
  3. Your Loving Arms (Club Mix) – Karen Overton
  4. Right of Way – Ferry Corsten
  5. Endless (Weekend Mix) – Weekend Warriors
  6. I Get Around – Beach Boys
  7. Bitch – Rinôçérôse
  8. Cheap and Cheerful – The Kills
  9. Club Thing (RAC Remix) – Yoav
  10. Flower – Moby

PS: The iTunes store impresses me. It managed to find 90% of these tracks. Admittedly, some of these are pretty common (Kanye West, Beach Boys). But I didn’t expect it to find the club tracks. Neat!

  1. 90% is just a fancy way of saying 9 out of 10.

  2. Too true, but I’m lame and say it in %. I think math has corrupted me. I hate fractions.

  3. The “per cent” measurement is certainly attractive to those who like quantitve comparisons. One such person is myself–however, I also like to point out where comparisons may be too obvious when another, sometimes simpler analysis might be used (as in this case where there are only ten objects of comparison). Moreover, in this scenario, I myself would have probably used a more qualitive comparison, such as, “All of these songs were available on iTunes, except for _____, ….” The only reason for this, however, is due to the fact that “90%” naturally invokes a positive reaction, where as if I were the author I would probably want to create a negative reaction, as I hate when stuff isn’t on iTunes. The problem is that you as the author (judging from the rest of the dialogue) likely want to create a positive reaction and thus, this whole analysis is just a way of saying, from my perspective, I don’t like when songs or videos are not available on iTunes. In fact, I don’t like iTunes or Apple Computers much at all because (among a host of other, more detailed reasons) they imply (in my experience) a precursor that you, the user, is a moron.

    P.S.,
    In case you haven’t noticed by now, I love fancy speak—-on the contrary to my first post in this blog?

  4. “In fact, I don’t like iTunes or Apple Computers much at all because (among a host of other, more detailed reasons) they imply (in my experience) a precursor that you, the user, is a moron.”

    I hope you’re being sarcastic.

  5. Hold on here, I think I may have improperly phrased my wording. What I meant was that I feel like I am treated like a moron when using an apple computer. When I said:

    “The problem is that you as the author (judging from the rest of the dialogue)…”

    I was refering that you (NHeer Design) wanted to promote the iTunes store. However, I changed from a dialogue to a statement:

    “In fact, I don’t like iTunes or Apple Computers much at all because (among a host of other, more detailed reasons) they imply (in my experience) a precursor that you, the user, is a moron.”

    Meaning that in my experiance a lot of Apple software is seemingly built upon the assumption that “you” (the user of a particular Apple software) are either going to use the software to commit a crime, or “you” (the user of a particular Apple software) are not going to know how to operate the software using back doors, etc., and thus many functions that one may know how to do using O/S tricks etc.

    I in no way was trying to impy that [NHeer Design] was a “moron”, only expressing my contempt with certain Apple Software products. Instead of using “you” I should have said “one” so that it flowed with the rest of the dialogue:

    “In fact, I don’t like iTunes or Apple Computers much at all because (among a host of other, more detailed reasons) they imply (in my experience) a precursor that one, the user, is a moron.”

    Quite the contrary – I continue to read your blog beacause my opinion is the exact opposite. I think of [NHeer Design]as one of the more sensible people in Calgary (I assume), with whom, I share many common observations and opinions.

    Hopefully I didn’t offend you in my rambling-without-checking original blog entry.

  6. Matthew, you should write legalese 🙂 (contracts, legally binding documents, EULAs, etc.).

    I was kidding around 😛

  7. Evidently, you are not the first to suggest so. It is very hard to determine tone and emotion of dialogue when there is no narrator, nor a hint of body language. As such, one must assume the worst possible reaction to one’s own postings.

    It also may stem from the fact that a few years ago I found myself in hot water after a few off-the-cuff comments on an email. Since then, a few other situations placed me in the position of either giving or receiving embarrassment and thus I have an immediate reaction for damage control in such situations.

Leave a Reply

