iStig

Canadian iPhone News – Perhaps a Confirmed iPhone Launch Date!

In Apple, iPhone, News on February 1, 2008 at 8:00:08 pm

The Edmonton Journal has an article this week about the new Apple Store that is going in West Edmonton Mall.

This new store will be 6,000 square feet, and will attract annual sales of about $30 million. Which is fantastic. But more telling is the first paragraph:

“EDMONTON – Alberta’s first Apple store opens July 1 in West Edmonton Mall, selling Macintosh computers, iPods and iPhones.”

I don’t know about you, but that last word looks an awful like “iPhone” to me. Perhaps the iPhone launch will coincide with Canada Day. However, this could just be a typo or an overzealous writer. Or maybe it’s referring to a Cisco product sharing the name.

Also, I hope that we don’t have to wait until July 1st. That’ll be more than a year since it was launched in the USA. However, Apple may roll out a new iPhone in that timeframe anyways. Who knows?

So that’s it then: nearly a confirmed launch date (ish) for the iPhone in Canada. I’m planning a trip to San Francisco in July anyway, so I hope it’s launched before then so I can pick one up before I go.

Oh, and for price, I hope it’s around $450-500. I hope.

Leave a Reply

