iStig

Review – Bawls Guarana Energy Drink

In Energy Drinks, Reviews on October 1, 2007 at 6:31:59 pm
Bawls

Well, I think I’ll start this. A review of different beverages. I’ll start with Bawls, which I just tried today.

I found this at my 7-11. I thought, for $2.50 (and in a glass bottle, with nearly 300 mL), it was a good deal, so I bought it.

The taste was like Sprite mixed with cream soda. In other words, great! It had 64 mg of caffeine in those 300 mL, which is more than Red Bull has (60 mg per 250 mL), but a lower concentration, and I noticed a bit of difference. But overall, same sort of buzz.

Rating: 8/10
The Good: Great taste, cool glass bottle, great value
The Bad: Low-ish concentration of caffeine when compared with other energy drinks

UPDATE – REVISION:

Just checked the back of an old Red Bull can, and did a cross-check on the internet. It has 80 milligrams of caffeine per 250 mL.

But… I’m not done yet. Its caffeine seems to be more potent than that of Red Bull et. al., so the buzz lasts a while longer. Updated ratings:

Rating: 8.5/10
The Good: Great taste, cool glass bottle, great value, more potent caffeine, so it keeps you buzzing all night long
The Bad: Really low concentration of caffeine when compared with just about any other energy drink, but that’s OK

  1. The caffeine feels like it last longer because of all the Guarana. it works like caffeine too. Add King 888 to your list of drink to try its got caffeine, Guarana and a whole lot of other goodness to check out. You can find them at http://www.king888.com

  2. This is the drink I live off of… I just wish I could find a place to buy a case other than online now that CompUSA closed up. 😦

Leave a Reply

