iStig

Driving Songs Reloaded: AKA – I’m Back!

In Music on August 27, 2007 at 9:31:38 pm

Well, after being on the road every day, you tend to develop a certain taste for certain songs on your MP3 player of choice (5th gen 60GB iPod for me).

Top Gear, in their infinite wisdom, launched a campaign a couple of years back to find the world’s greatest driving song. And, through viewer votes, it was decided that “Don’t Stop Me Now” by Queen is the best. But I’m not the biggest Queen fan. As such, I have my own list of great driving songs. Here’s the playlist:

  1. 1. HYPERPOWER! – Nine Inch Nails – Let’s kick things off with the opening track off of Year Zero. And yes, it’s spelled in all capital letters, with the exclaimation point. Awesome track this.
  2. 2. This Is The New Shit – Marilyn Manson – There’s something about this song that just works for a long highway.
  3. 3. Synesthesia – AFI – Find a long, straight road. Make sure the sun is shining and that the sky is decently blue. You should ideally be driving a convertible, but any car with windows that go down works. Crank this shit up!
  4. 4. Are My Eyes Too Red? – Hot Little Rocket – I’m a sucker for little Canadian punk/indie bands, and this one’s amazing. This track in particular is great for driving.
  5. 5. This Is A Fire Door Never Leave Open – The Weakerthans – Again, I’m a sucker for this sort of stuff. This one just works as a driving-type-tune. ‘Nuff said.
  6. 6. Drain You – Nirvana – I love Nirvana. I have every CD of theirs except one. OK… two. I’m missing “Sliver – Best of the Box” and “Incesticide”, but I have all of the other ones. Back on topic: driving songs. Yup. Driving songs. Drain You.
  7. 7. E-Pro – Beck – I used to be a bigger fan of Beck, but I since lost that. However, this is still a great track, particularily for driving. Hence why it’s on this list.
  8. 8. In The Air Tonight – Nonpoint – A cover of the infamous Phil Collins original. Included in the movie “Miami Vice”. I love this version. Sidenote: there is no real elaborate backstory of this song. Check out the Urban Legends Reference dictionary and encyclopaedia of all things truth.

That’s it for now. I’ll probably update this.

Leave a Reply

